Classes Start: June 18, 2018 | Classes End: July 26, 2018

About Us

How to Apply

Participating Schools

FAQ

About High School STEM Connection

High School STEM Connection is a program for West Contra Costa School District High School students who want the opportunity to start their college journey now. Students have the opportunity to take a FREE math or science class during the summer semester at Contra Costa College. Students who successfully complete a math or science class through High School Stem Connection will earn both college transferable units and high school credits. The best part is the program is entirely FREE to the student and their families.

 

About STEMCenter

How to Apply

  1. Download and complete the High School STEM Connection Application
  2. Contact your High School Counselor for help completing the application and picking which class you should enroll in.
  3. Turn in the completed paper application to your counselor before
    May 29th.
  4. Students must be able to attend all class sessions. Vacation time during the session is highly discourage for student success.

 

What participants will receive

  1. Free textbook on loan for the semester
  2. Free tutoring
  3. Class and college success training and advising
  4. The opportunity to catch up or accelerate in math and science coursework.
  5. Free lunch will be provided everyday.
  • De Anza High School

    Primary Contact

    Olivia Isseks

    Email

    olivia.isseks@wccusd.net

    Alternate Contact

    Jennifer Thayer

    Email

    jennifer.thayer@wccusd.net

  • Hercules High School

    Primary Contact

    Eric Medeiros

    Email

    eric.medeiros@wccusd.net

    Alternate Contact

    Molly Couto

    Email

    mcouto@wccusd.net

  • Pinole Valley High School

    Primary Contact

    Caren Ohlson

    Email

    caren.ohlson@wccusd.net

    Alternate Contact

    Jessica Ross

    Email

    jessica.ross@wccusd.net

  • Kennedy High School

    Primary Contact

    Michelle Hart

    Email

    mhart@wccusd.net

    Alternate Contact

    Denisse Felix

    Email

    denisse.felix@wccusd.net

  • Richmond High School

    Primary Contact

    Krista Jann

    Email

    kjann@wccusd.net

    Alternate Contact

    Betty Valenzuela

    Email

    bertha.valenzuela@wccusd.net

  • El Cerrito High School

    Primary Contact

    Christina Rios

    Email

    crios@wccusd.net

    Alternate Contact

    Yen Kong Moua

    Email

    yenkong.moua@wccusd.net

  • Greenwood Academy

    Primary Contact

    Mike Aaronian

    Email

    maaronian@wccusd.net

    Alternate Contact

    Kelly Mosley

    Email

    kmosley@wccusd.net

  • Middle College High School / Vista High School

    Primary Contact

    Caroline Cruger-Hansen

    Email

    ccruger-hansen@wccusd.net

    Alternate Contact

    Sonya Blevins

    Email

    sblevins@wccusd.net

  • What is High School STEM Connection?

    High School STEM Connection is a program for West Contra Costa School District High School students who want the opportunity to start their college journey now. Students have the opportunity to take a FREE math or science class during the summer semester at Contra Costa College.

  • Who is eligible for High School STEM Connection?

    Rising sophomores, juniors, seniors, and students who are taking a 5th year who attend one of the West Contra Costa Unified High Schools is available.

  • How much does High School STEM Connect cost?

    There is no cost to students or their families. High School STEM Connection is free to all participants. Textbooks will also be given to students on loan free of charge.

  • How do students apply for High School STEM Connection?

    Students must go to their campus counseling office to pick up an enrollment packet that includes the High School STEM Connection Application, CCC Enrollment Form, and Concurrent Enrollment Form. Students must work with their high school counselor to chose the correct math or science course to enroll in. Completed enrollment packets must be turned into their high school counselor who will then get the authorization signature for their concurrent enrollment form. The STEM Center staff will be collecting completed packets every week from each high school location.

  • How can CCC outreach counselors support High School STEM Connection?

    Direct students to High School STEM Connection enrollment workshops and or help students complete the enrollment packet. Please do not collect any completed packets to turn in to The STEM Center team. All completed packets MUST be turned in to the high school counselors at each site.

Application

Deadline

MAY 29

2018

Download
Application

Download
Flyer

Brought to you by:

WEST CONTRA COSTA UNIFIED

School District

Last Modified: May 2018

Contra Costa College Hispanic Serving Institution | © 2018 Contra Costa College HSI STEM Grant. All rights reserved.